Skip to content
Live in Sydney
State school · Primary

Punchbowl Public School

Punchbowl, 2196 — in Punchbowl

SectorSchools
State
Primary school
NSW school data
Year levels
—
official range
NSW school data
ICSEA
976
national average is 1000
ACARA 2025
Suburb
Punchbowl
SA2 this campus sits in
ABS boundary

School information

Punchbowl Public School is a state primary school in Punchbowl, Sydney. It had 528 students, per NSW school data. Its state-school catchment covers Punchbowl and parts of nearby suburbs. Its ICSEA is 976, below the national average of 1000 (36th percentile nationally). NAPLAN results for Punchbowl Public School are published on its My School profile (ACARA).

Student background

ACARA · 2025

ICSEA measures the socio-educational advantage of a school's intake against the national average of 1000. The quarters bar shows how its students spread across the four national bands; an average school sits at 25% in each.

976ICSEA — 24 points below the national average of 1000, higher than 36% of Australian schools
−24
820national average · 10001180
vs avg

Socio-educational advantage

Bottom quarter 46%Lower-middle quarter 25%Upper-middle quarter 22%Top quarter 7%

All Australian students — 25% in each quarter

Who’s enrolled

528students in 2025

Girls and boys

  • Girls 244 · 46%
  • Boys 284 · 54%

Language background

  • Language other than English 94%
  • English only 6%
  • Not stated 0%

Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander

2% of enrolment

Punchbowl Public School has an ICSEA of 976, below the national average of 1000 and higher than 36% of Australian schools. 7% of its students are in the top quarter of socio-educational advantage and 46% in the bottom quarter, against 25% in each quarter across all Australian schools. It enrolled 528 students in 2025 (244 girls, 284 boys), 2% Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander and 94% with a language background other than English.

Show the data table
Punchbowl Public School — student background, ACARA School Profile 2025
MeasureValue
ICSEA976
ICSEA vs national average (1000)-24
ICSEA percentile36
Bottom quarter of advantage46%
Lower-middle quarter of advantage25%
Upper-middle quarter of advantage22%
Top quarter of advantage7%
Total enrolment528
Girls244 (46%)
Boys284 (54%)
Language other than English94%
English only6%
Not stated0%
Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander2%
NAPLAN results and student progress for Punchbowl Public School are on My School, ACARA’s official site.

School details

Sector
State school
Type
Primary
Enrolment
528 students
ICSEA
976 · 36th percentile
Address
Punchbowl 2196

Catchment area

NSW government schools enrol students who live inside their catchment. This is a simplified outline — catchments can split a street, so confirm your exact address on the NSW Department of Education’s School Finder.

Map
Punchbowl Public School Catchment area · map tiles © OpenStreetMap contributors
Primary

Covers Punchbowl.

Also parts of Bankstown - South, Roselands.

Punchbowl Public School: common questions

Is Punchbowl Public School a public or private school?
Punchbowl Public School is a government (public) primary school in Punchbowl, Sydney. NSW government schools enrol students who live inside their catchment area.
How many students go to Punchbowl Public School?
Punchbowl Public School had 528 students enrolled, per NSW school data.
What suburbs are in the Punchbowl Public School catchment?
Punchbowl Public School's enrolment catchment covers Punchbowl, plus parts of nearby suburbs. Catchments can split a street, so confirm your address on the NSW Department of Education's School Finder.
What is Punchbowl Public School's ICSEA?
Punchbowl Public School has an ICSEA of 976, below the national average of 1000 (36th percentile nationally), per the ACARA School Profile 2025. ICSEA reflects the socio-educational background of a school's students, not its results.
Where is Punchbowl Public School located?
Punchbowl Public School is at Punchbowl 2196.

School list: NSW Government open data — ACARA Schools NSW, via the NSW data portal, CC BY 4.0. Catchments: NSW Department of Education “School intake zones” dataset, CC BY 4.0. ICSEA & student background: ACARA School Profile 2025. NAPLAN: myschool.edu.au (ACARA).