Skip to content
Live in Sydney
State school · Secondary

Punchbowl Boys High School

Punchbowl, 2196 — in Punchbowl

SectorSchools
State
Secondary school
NSW school data
Year levels
—
official range
NSW school data
ICSEA
923
national average is 1000
ACARA 2025
Suburb
Punchbowl
SA2 this campus sits in
ABS boundary

School information

Punchbowl Boys High School is a state secondary school in Punchbowl, Sydney. It had 472 students, per NSW school data. Its state-school catchment covers Greenacre - South, Riverwood, Roselands, Punchbowl, Bankstown - North, Narwee - Beverly Hills and Greenacre - North and parts of nearby suburbs. Its ICSEA is 923, below the national average of 1000 (16th percentile nationally). NAPLAN results for Punchbowl Boys High School are published on its My School profile (ACARA).

Student background

ACARA · 2025

ICSEA measures the socio-educational advantage of a school's intake against the national average of 1000. The quarters bar shows how its students spread across the four national bands; an average school sits at 25% in each.

923ICSEA — 77 points below the national average of 1000, higher than 16% of Australian schools
−77
820national average · 10001180
vs avg

Socio-educational advantage

Bottom quarter 66%Lower-middle quarter 22%Upper-middle quarter 10%Top quarter 2%

All Australian students — 25% in each quarter

Who’s enrolled

472students in 2025

Language background

  • Language other than English 96%
  • English only 4%
  • Not stated 0%

Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander

0% of enrolment

Punchbowl Boys High School has an ICSEA of 923, below the national average of 1000 and higher than 16% of Australian schools. 2% of its students are in the top quarter of socio-educational advantage and 66% in the bottom quarter, against 25% in each quarter across all Australian schools. It enrolled 472 students in 2025, 0% Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander and 96% with a language background other than English.

Show the data table
Punchbowl Boys High School — student background, ACARA School Profile 2025
MeasureValue
ICSEA923
ICSEA vs national average (1000)-77
ICSEA percentile16
Bottom quarter of advantage66%
Lower-middle quarter of advantage22%
Upper-middle quarter of advantage10%
Top quarter of advantage2%
Total enrolment472
Language other than English96%
English only4%
Not stated0%
Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander0%
NAPLAN results and student progress for Punchbowl Boys High School are on My School, ACARA’s official site.

School details

Sector
State school
Type
Secondary
Enrolment
472 students
ICSEA
923 · 16th percentile
Address
Punchbowl 2196

Catchment area

NSW government schools enrol students who live inside their catchment. This is a simplified outline — catchments can split a street, so confirm your exact address on the NSW Department of Education’s School Finder.

Map
Punchbowl Boys High School Catchment area · map tiles © OpenStreetMap contributors

Punchbowl Boys High School: common questions

Is Punchbowl Boys High School a public or private school?
Punchbowl Boys High School is a government (public) secondary school in Punchbowl, Sydney. NSW government schools enrol students who live inside their catchment area.
How many students go to Punchbowl Boys High School?
Punchbowl Boys High School had 472 students enrolled, per NSW school data.
What suburbs are in the Punchbowl Boys High School catchment?
Punchbowl Boys High School's enrolment catchment covers Greenacre - South, Riverwood, Roselands, Punchbowl, Bankstown - North, Narwee - Beverly Hills and Greenacre - North, plus parts of nearby suburbs. Catchments can split a street, so confirm your address on the NSW Department of Education's School Finder.
What is Punchbowl Boys High School's ICSEA?
Punchbowl Boys High School has an ICSEA of 923, below the national average of 1000 (16th percentile nationally), per the ACARA School Profile 2025. ICSEA reflects the socio-educational background of a school's students, not its results.
Where is Punchbowl Boys High School located?
Punchbowl Boys High School is at Punchbowl 2196.

School list: NSW Government open data — ACARA Schools NSW, via the NSW data portal, CC BY 4.0. Catchments: NSW Department of Education “School intake zones” dataset, CC BY 4.0. ICSEA & student background: ACARA School Profile 2025. NAPLAN: myschool.edu.au (ACARA).