Skip to content
Live in Sydney
State school · Primary

Katoomba North Public School

Katoomba, 2780 — in Katoomba - Leura

SectorSchools
State
Primary school
NSW school data
Year levels
—
official range
NSW school data
ICSEA
986
national average is 1000
ACARA 2025
Suburb
Katoomba - Leura
SA2 this campus sits in
ABS boundary

School information

Katoomba North Public School is a state primary school in Katoomba - Leura, Sydney. It had 128 students, per NSW school data. Its state-school catchment covers Katoomba - Leura and parts of nearby suburbs. Its ICSEA is 986, below the national average of 1000 (40th percentile nationally). NAPLAN results for Katoomba North Public School are published on its My School profile (ACARA).

Student background

ACARA · 2025

ICSEA measures the socio-educational advantage of a school's intake against the national average of 1000. The quarters bar shows how its students spread across the four national bands; an average school sits at 25% in each.

986ICSEA — 14 points below the national average of 1000, higher than 40% of Australian schools
−14
820national average · 10001180
vs avg

Socio-educational advantage

Bottom quarter 30%Lower-middle quarter 36%Upper-middle quarter 23%Top quarter 11%

All Australian students — 25% in each quarter

Who’s enrolled

128students in 2025

Girls and boys

  • Girls 61 · 48%
  • Boys 67 · 52%

Language background

  • Language other than English 12%
  • English only 88%
  • Not stated 0%

Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander

16% of enrolment

Katoomba North Public School has an ICSEA of 986, below the national average of 1000 and higher than 40% of Australian schools. 11% of its students are in the top quarter of socio-educational advantage and 30% in the bottom quarter, against 25% in each quarter across all Australian schools. It enrolled 128 students in 2025 (61 girls, 67 boys), 16% Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander and 12% with a language background other than English.

Show the data table
Katoomba North Public School — student background, ACARA School Profile 2025
MeasureValue
ICSEA986
ICSEA vs national average (1000)-14
ICSEA percentile40
Bottom quarter of advantage30%
Lower-middle quarter of advantage36%
Upper-middle quarter of advantage23%
Top quarter of advantage11%
Total enrolment128
Girls61 (48%)
Boys67 (52%)
Language other than English12%
English only88%
Not stated0%
Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander16%
NAPLAN results and student progress for Katoomba North Public School are on My School, ACARA’s official site.

School details

Sector
State school
Type
Primary
Enrolment
128 students
ICSEA
986 · 40th percentile
Address
Katoomba 2780

Catchment area

NSW government schools enrol students who live inside their catchment. This is a simplified outline — catchments can split a street, so confirm your exact address on the NSW Department of Education’s School Finder.

Map
Katoomba North Public School Catchment area · map tiles © OpenStreetMap contributors
Primary

Covers Katoomba - Leura.

Also parts of Blue Mountains - North.

Katoomba North Public School: common questions

Is Katoomba North Public School a public or private school?
Katoomba North Public School is a government (public) primary school in Katoomba - Leura, Sydney. NSW government schools enrol students who live inside their catchment area.
How many students go to Katoomba North Public School?
Katoomba North Public School had 128 students enrolled, per NSW school data.
What suburbs are in the Katoomba North Public School catchment?
Katoomba North Public School's enrolment catchment covers Katoomba - Leura, plus parts of nearby suburbs. Catchments can split a street, so confirm your address on the NSW Department of Education's School Finder.
What is Katoomba North Public School's ICSEA?
Katoomba North Public School has an ICSEA of 986, below the national average of 1000 (40th percentile nationally), per the ACARA School Profile 2025. ICSEA reflects the socio-educational background of a school's students, not its results.
Where is Katoomba North Public School located?
Katoomba North Public School is at Katoomba 2780, in the Katoomba - Leura SA2.

School list: NSW Government open data — ACARA Schools NSW, via the NSW data portal, CC BY 4.0. Catchments: NSW Department of Education “School intake zones” dataset, CC BY 4.0. ICSEA & student background: ACARA School Profile 2025. NAPLAN: myschool.edu.au (ACARA).