Skip to content
Live in Sydney
State school · Primary

Thirlmere Public School

Thirlmere, 2572 — in Picton - Tahmoor - Buxton

SectorSchools
State
Primary school
NSW school data
Year levels
—
official range
NSW school data
ICSEA
959
national average is 1000
ACARA 2025
Suburb
Picton - Tahmoor - Buxton
SA2 this campus sits in
ABS boundary

School information

Thirlmere Public School is a state primary school in Picton - Tahmoor - Buxton, Sydney. It had 401 students, per NSW school data. Its ICSEA is 959, below the national average of 1000 (28th percentile nationally). NAPLAN results for Thirlmere Public School are published on its My School profile (ACARA).

Student background

ACARA · 2025

ICSEA measures the socio-educational advantage of a school's intake against the national average of 1000. The quarters bar shows how its students spread across the four national bands; an average school sits at 25% in each.

959ICSEA — 41 points below the national average of 1000, higher than 28% of Australian schools
−41
820national average · 10001180
vs avg

Socio-educational advantage

Bottom quarter 41%Lower-middle quarter 35%Upper-middle quarter 17%Top quarter 7%

All Australian students — 25% in each quarter

Who’s enrolled

401students in 2025

Girls and boys

  • Girls 197 · 49%
  • Boys 204 · 51%

Language background

  • Language other than English 10%
  • English only 90%
  • Not stated 0%

Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander

17% of enrolment

Thirlmere Public School has an ICSEA of 959, below the national average of 1000 and higher than 28% of Australian schools. 7% of its students are in the top quarter of socio-educational advantage and 41% in the bottom quarter, against 25% in each quarter across all Australian schools. It enrolled 401 students in 2025 (197 girls, 204 boys), 17% Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander and 10% with a language background other than English.

Show the data table
Thirlmere Public School — student background, ACARA School Profile 2025
MeasureValue
ICSEA959
ICSEA vs national average (1000)-41
ICSEA percentile28
Bottom quarter of advantage41%
Lower-middle quarter of advantage35%
Upper-middle quarter of advantage17%
Top quarter of advantage7%
Total enrolment401
Girls197 (49%)
Boys204 (51%)
Language other than English10%
English only90%
Not stated0%
Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander17%
NAPLAN results and student progress for Thirlmere Public School are on My School, ACARA’s official site.

School details

Sector
State school
Type
Primary
Enrolment
401 students
ICSEA
959 · 28th percentile
Address
Thirlmere 2572

Thirlmere Public School: common questions

Is Thirlmere Public School a public or private school?
Thirlmere Public School is a government (public) primary school in Picton - Tahmoor - Buxton, Sydney. NSW government schools enrol students who live inside their catchment area.
How many students go to Thirlmere Public School?
Thirlmere Public School had 401 students enrolled, per NSW school data.
What is Thirlmere Public School's ICSEA?
Thirlmere Public School has an ICSEA of 959, below the national average of 1000 (28th percentile nationally), per the ACARA School Profile 2025. ICSEA reflects the socio-educational background of a school's students, not its results.
Where is Thirlmere Public School located?
Thirlmere Public School is at Thirlmere 2572, in the Picton - Tahmoor - Buxton SA2.

School list: NSW Government open data — ACARA Schools NSW, via the NSW data portal, CC BY 4.0. Catchments: NSW Department of Education “School intake zones” dataset, CC BY 4.0. ICSEA & student background: ACARA School Profile 2025. NAPLAN: myschool.edu.au (ACARA).