Skip to content
Live in Sydney
State school · Primary

Picton Public School

Picton, 2571 — in Picton - Tahmoor - Buxton

SectorSchools
State
Primary school
NSW school data
Year levels
—
official range
NSW school data
ICSEA
991
national average is 1000
ACARA 2025
Suburb
Picton - Tahmoor - Buxton
SA2 this campus sits in
ABS boundary

School information

Picton Public School is a state primary school in Picton - Tahmoor - Buxton, Sydney. It had 307 students, per NSW school data. It has a state-school enrolment catchment. Its ICSEA is 991, below the national average of 1000 (43rd percentile nationally). NAPLAN results for Picton Public School are published on its My School profile (ACARA).

Student background

ACARA · 2025

ICSEA measures the socio-educational advantage of a school's intake against the national average of 1000. The quarters bar shows how its students spread across the four national bands; an average school sits at 25% in each.

991ICSEA — 9 points below the national average of 1000, higher than 43% of Australian schools
−9
820national average · 10001180
vs avg

Socio-educational advantage

Bottom quarter 35%Lower-middle quarter 33%Upper-middle quarter 22%Top quarter 11%

All Australian students — 25% in each quarter

Who’s enrolled

307students in 2025

Girls and boys

  • Girls 134 · 44%
  • Boys 173 · 56%

Language background

  • Language other than English 4%
  • English only 96%
  • Not stated 0%

Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander

12% of enrolment

Picton Public School has an ICSEA of 991, below the national average of 1000 and higher than 43% of Australian schools. 11% of its students are in the top quarter of socio-educational advantage and 35% in the bottom quarter, against 25% in each quarter across all Australian schools. It enrolled 307 students in 2025 (134 girls, 173 boys), 12% Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander and 4% with a language background other than English.

Show the data table
Picton Public School — student background, ACARA School Profile 2025
MeasureValue
ICSEA991
ICSEA vs national average (1000)-9
ICSEA percentile43
Bottom quarter of advantage35%
Lower-middle quarter of advantage33%
Upper-middle quarter of advantage22%
Top quarter of advantage11%
Total enrolment307
Girls134 (44%)
Boys173 (56%)
Language other than English4%
English only96%
Not stated0%
Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander12%
NAPLAN results and student progress for Picton Public School are on My School, ACARA’s official site.

School details

Sector
State school
Type
Primary
Enrolment
307 students
ICSEA
991 · 43rd percentile
Address
Picton 2571

Catchment area

NSW government schools enrol students who live inside their catchment. This is a simplified outline — catchments can split a street, so confirm your exact address on the NSW Department of Education’s School Finder.

Map
Picton Public School Catchment area · map tiles © OpenStreetMap contributors

Picton Public School: common questions

Is Picton Public School a public or private school?
Picton Public School is a government (public) primary school in Picton - Tahmoor - Buxton, Sydney. NSW government schools enrol students who live inside their catchment area.
How many students go to Picton Public School?
Picton Public School had 307 students enrolled, per NSW school data.
What is Picton Public School's ICSEA?
Picton Public School has an ICSEA of 991, below the national average of 1000 (43rd percentile nationally), per the ACARA School Profile 2025. ICSEA reflects the socio-educational background of a school's students, not its results.
Where is Picton Public School located?
Picton Public School is at Picton 2571, in the Picton - Tahmoor - Buxton SA2.

School list: NSW Government open data — ACARA Schools NSW, via the NSW data portal, CC BY 4.0. Catchments: NSW Department of Education “School intake zones” dataset, CC BY 4.0. ICSEA & student background: ACARA School Profile 2025. NAPLAN: myschool.edu.au (ACARA).