Skip to content
Live in Sydney
State school · Primary

Tharawal Public School

Menai, 2234 — in Illawong - Alfords Point

SectorSchools
State
Primary school
NSW school data
Year levels
—
official range
NSW school data
ICSEA
1085
national average is 1000
ACARA 2025
Suburb
Illawong - Alfords Point
SA2 this campus sits in
ABS boundary

School information

Tharawal Public School is a state primary school in Illawong - Alfords Point, Sydney. It had 328 students, per NSW school data. Its ICSEA is 1085, above the national average of 1000 (80th percentile nationally). NAPLAN results for Tharawal Public School are published on its My School profile (ACARA).

Student background

ACARA · 2025

ICSEA measures the socio-educational advantage of a school's intake against the national average of 1000. The quarters bar shows how its students spread across the four national bands; an average school sits at 25% in each.

1085ICSEA — 85 points above the national average of 1000, higher than 80% of Australian schools
+85
820national average · 10001180
vs avg

Socio-educational advantage

Bottom quarter 10%Lower-middle quarter 23%Upper-middle quarter 33%Top quarter 34%

All Australian students — 25% in each quarter

Who’s enrolled

328students in 2025

Girls and boys

  • Girls 135 · 41%
  • Boys 193 · 59%

Language background

  • Language other than English 25%
  • English only 75%
  • Not stated 0%

Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander

3% of enrolment

Tharawal Public School has an ICSEA of 1085, above the national average of 1000 and higher than 80% of Australian schools. 34% of its students are in the top quarter of socio-educational advantage and 10% in the bottom quarter, against 25% in each quarter across all Australian schools. It enrolled 328 students in 2025 (135 girls, 193 boys), 3% Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander and 25% with a language background other than English.

Show the data table
Tharawal Public School — student background, ACARA School Profile 2025
MeasureValue
ICSEA1085
ICSEA vs national average (1000)+85
ICSEA percentile80
Bottom quarter of advantage10%
Lower-middle quarter of advantage23%
Upper-middle quarter of advantage33%
Top quarter of advantage34%
Total enrolment328
Girls135 (41%)
Boys193 (59%)
Language other than English25%
English only75%
Not stated0%
Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander3%
NAPLAN results and student progress for Tharawal Public School are on My School, ACARA’s official site.

School details

Sector
State school
Type
Primary
Enrolment
328 students
ICSEA
1085 · 80th percentile
Address
Menai 2234

Tharawal Public School: common questions

Is Tharawal Public School a public or private school?
Tharawal Public School is a government (public) primary school in Illawong - Alfords Point, Sydney. NSW government schools enrol students who live inside their catchment area.
How many students go to Tharawal Public School?
Tharawal Public School had 328 students enrolled, per NSW school data.
What is Tharawal Public School's ICSEA?
Tharawal Public School has an ICSEA of 1085, above the national average of 1000 (80th percentile nationally), per the ACARA School Profile 2025. ICSEA reflects the socio-educational background of a school's students, not its results.
Where is Tharawal Public School located?
Tharawal Public School is at Menai 2234, in the Illawong - Alfords Point SA2.

School list: NSW Government open data — ACARA Schools NSW, via the NSW data portal, CC BY 4.0. Catchments: NSW Department of Education “School intake zones” dataset, CC BY 4.0. ICSEA & student background: ACARA School Profile 2025. NAPLAN: myschool.edu.au (ACARA).