Skip to content
Live in Sydney
State school · Primary

Lurnea Public School

Lurnea, 2170 — in Lurnea - Cartwright

SectorSchools
State
Primary school
NSW school data
Year levels
—
official range
NSW school data
ICSEA
906
national average is 1000
ACARA 2025
Suburb
Lurnea - Cartwright
SA2 this campus sits in
ABS boundary

School information

Lurnea Public School is a state primary school in Lurnea - Cartwright, Sydney. It had 440 students, per NSW school data. Its state-school catchment covers Lurnea - Cartwright and parts of nearby suburbs. Its ICSEA is 906, below the national average of 1000 (12th percentile nationally). NAPLAN results for Lurnea Public School are published on its My School profile (ACARA).

Student background

ACARA · 2025

ICSEA measures the socio-educational advantage of a school's intake against the national average of 1000. The quarters bar shows how its students spread across the four national bands; an average school sits at 25% in each.

906ICSEA — 94 points below the national average of 1000, higher than 12% of Australian schools
−94
820national average · 10001180
vs avg

Socio-educational advantage

Bottom quarter 68%Lower-middle quarter 21%Upper-middle quarter 8%Top quarter 3%

All Australian students — 25% in each quarter

Who’s enrolled

440students in 2025

Girls and boys

  • Girls 222 · 50%
  • Boys 218 · 50%

Language background

  • Language other than English 84%
  • English only 16%
  • Not stated 0%

Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander

6% of enrolment

Lurnea Public School has an ICSEA of 906, below the national average of 1000 and higher than 12% of Australian schools. 3% of its students are in the top quarter of socio-educational advantage and 68% in the bottom quarter, against 25% in each quarter across all Australian schools. It enrolled 440 students in 2025 (222 girls, 218 boys), 6% Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander and 84% with a language background other than English.

Show the data table
Lurnea Public School — student background, ACARA School Profile 2025
MeasureValue
ICSEA906
ICSEA vs national average (1000)-94
ICSEA percentile12
Bottom quarter of advantage68%
Lower-middle quarter of advantage21%
Upper-middle quarter of advantage8%
Top quarter of advantage3%
Total enrolment440
Girls222 (50%)
Boys218 (50%)
Language other than English84%
English only16%
Not stated0%
Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander6%
NAPLAN results and student progress for Lurnea Public School are on My School, ACARA’s official site.

School details

Sector
State school
Type
Primary
Enrolment
440 students
ICSEA
906 · 12th percentile
Address
Lurnea 2170

Catchment area

NSW government schools enrol students who live inside their catchment. This is a simplified outline — catchments can split a street, so confirm your exact address on the NSW Department of Education’s School Finder.

Map
Lurnea Public School Catchment area · map tiles © OpenStreetMap contributors

Lurnea Public School: common questions

Is Lurnea Public School a public or private school?
Lurnea Public School is a government (public) primary school in Lurnea - Cartwright, Sydney. NSW government schools enrol students who live inside their catchment area.
How many students go to Lurnea Public School?
Lurnea Public School had 440 students enrolled, per NSW school data.
What suburbs are in the Lurnea Public School catchment?
Lurnea Public School's enrolment catchment covers Lurnea - Cartwright, plus parts of nearby suburbs. Catchments can split a street, so confirm your address on the NSW Department of Education's School Finder.
What is Lurnea Public School's ICSEA?
Lurnea Public School has an ICSEA of 906, below the national average of 1000 (12th percentile nationally), per the ACARA School Profile 2025. ICSEA reflects the socio-educational background of a school's students, not its results.
Where is Lurnea Public School located?
Lurnea Public School is at Lurnea 2170, in the Lurnea - Cartwright SA2.

School list: NSW Government open data — ACARA Schools NSW, via the NSW data portal, CC BY 4.0. Catchments: NSW Department of Education “School intake zones” dataset, CC BY 4.0. ICSEA & student background: ACARA School Profile 2025. NAPLAN: myschool.edu.au (ACARA).