Skip to content
Live in Sydney
State school · Primary

Kensington Public School

Kensington, 2033 — in Kensington (NSW)

SectorSchools
State
Primary school
NSW school data
Year levels
—
official range
NSW school data
ICSEA
1120
national average is 1000
ACARA 2025
Suburb
Kensington (NSW)
SA2 this campus sits in
ABS boundary

School information

Kensington Public School is a state primary school in Kensington (NSW), Sydney. It had 381 students, per NSW school data. It has a state-school enrolment catchment. Its ICSEA is 1120, above the national average of 1000 (89th percentile nationally). NAPLAN results for Kensington Public School are published on its My School profile (ACARA).

Student background

ACARA · 2025

ICSEA measures the socio-educational advantage of a school's intake against the national average of 1000. The quarters bar shows how its students spread across the four national bands; an average school sits at 25% in each.

1120ICSEA — 120 points above the national average of 1000, higher than 89% of Australian schools
+120
820national average · 10001180
vs avg

Socio-educational advantage

Bottom quarter 5%Lower-middle quarter 15%Upper-middle quarter 33%Top quarter 47%

All Australian students — 25% in each quarter

Who’s enrolled

381students in 2025

Girls and boys

  • Girls 200 · 52%
  • Boys 181 · 48%

Language background

  • Language other than English 69%
  • English only 31%
  • Not stated 0%

Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander

1% of enrolment

Kensington Public School has an ICSEA of 1120, above the national average of 1000 and higher than 89% of Australian schools. 47% of its students are in the top quarter of socio-educational advantage and 5% in the bottom quarter, against 25% in each quarter across all Australian schools. It enrolled 381 students in 2025 (200 girls, 181 boys), 1% Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander and 69% with a language background other than English.

Show the data table
Kensington Public School — student background, ACARA School Profile 2025
MeasureValue
ICSEA1120
ICSEA vs national average (1000)+120
ICSEA percentile89
Bottom quarter of advantage5%
Lower-middle quarter of advantage15%
Upper-middle quarter of advantage33%
Top quarter of advantage47%
Total enrolment381
Girls200 (52%)
Boys181 (48%)
Language other than English69%
English only31%
Not stated0%
Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander1%
NAPLAN results and student progress for Kensington Public School are on My School, ACARA’s official site.

School details

Sector
State school
Type
Primary
Enrolment
381 students
ICSEA
1120 · 89th percentile
Address
Kensington 2033

Catchment area

NSW government schools enrol students who live inside their catchment. This is a simplified outline — catchments can split a street, so confirm your exact address on the NSW Department of Education’s School Finder.

Map
Kensington Public School Catchment area · map tiles © OpenStreetMap contributors

Kensington Public School: common questions

Is Kensington Public School a public or private school?
Kensington Public School is a government (public) primary school in Kensington (NSW), Sydney. NSW government schools enrol students who live inside their catchment area.
How many students go to Kensington Public School?
Kensington Public School had 381 students enrolled, per NSW school data.
What is Kensington Public School's ICSEA?
Kensington Public School has an ICSEA of 1120, above the national average of 1000 (89th percentile nationally), per the ACARA School Profile 2025. ICSEA reflects the socio-educational background of a school's students, not its results.
Where is Kensington Public School located?
Kensington Public School is at Kensington 2033, in the Kensington (NSW) SA2.

School list: NSW Government open data — ACARA Schools NSW, via the NSW data portal, CC BY 4.0. Catchments: NSW Department of Education “School intake zones” dataset, CC BY 4.0. ICSEA & student background: ACARA School Profile 2025. NAPLAN: myschool.edu.au (ACARA).