Skip to content
Live in Sydney
State school · Primary

Crown Street Public School

Surry Hills, 2010 — in Surry Hills

SectorSchools
State
Primary school
NSW school data
Year levels
—
official range
NSW school data
ICSEA
1114
national average is 1000
ACARA 2025
Suburb
Surry Hills
SA2 this campus sits in
ABS boundary

School information

Crown Street Public School is a state primary school in Surry Hills, Sydney. It had 288 students, per NSW school data. Its state-school catchment covers Surry Hills and Darlinghurst and parts of nearby suburbs. Its ICSEA is 1114, above the national average of 1000 (88th percentile nationally). NAPLAN results for Crown Street Public School are published on its My School profile (ACARA).

Student background

ACARA · 2025

ICSEA measures the socio-educational advantage of a school's intake against the national average of 1000. The quarters bar shows how its students spread across the four national bands; an average school sits at 25% in each.

1114ICSEA — 114 points above the national average of 1000, higher than 88% of Australian schools
+114
820national average · 10001180
vs avg

Socio-educational advantage

Bottom quarter 7%Lower-middle quarter 16%Upper-middle quarter 31%Top quarter 47%

All Australian students — 25% in each quarter

Who’s enrolled

288students in 2025

Girls and boys

  • Girls 136 · 47%
  • Boys 152 · 53%

Language background

  • Language other than English 49%
  • English only 51%
  • Not stated 0%

Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander

1% of enrolment

Crown Street Public School has an ICSEA of 1114, above the national average of 1000 and higher than 88% of Australian schools. 47% of its students are in the top quarter of socio-educational advantage and 7% in the bottom quarter, against 25% in each quarter across all Australian schools. It enrolled 288 students in 2025 (136 girls, 152 boys), 1% Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander and 49% with a language background other than English.

Show the data table
Crown Street Public School — student background, ACARA School Profile 2025
MeasureValue
ICSEA1114
ICSEA vs national average (1000)+114
ICSEA percentile88
Bottom quarter of advantage7%
Lower-middle quarter of advantage16%
Upper-middle quarter of advantage31%
Top quarter of advantage47%
Total enrolment288
Girls136 (47%)
Boys152 (53%)
Language other than English49%
English only51%
Not stated0%
Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander1%
NAPLAN results and student progress for Crown Street Public School are on My School, ACARA’s official site.

School details

Sector
State school
Type
Primary
Enrolment
288 students
ICSEA
1114 · 88th percentile
Address
Surry Hills 2010

Catchment area

NSW government schools enrol students who live inside their catchment. This is a simplified outline — catchments can split a street, so confirm your exact address on the NSW Department of Education’s School Finder.

Map
Crown Street Public School Catchment area · map tiles © OpenStreetMap contributors

Crown Street Public School: common questions

Is Crown Street Public School a public or private school?
Crown Street Public School is a government (public) primary school in Surry Hills, Sydney. NSW government schools enrol students who live inside their catchment area.
How many students go to Crown Street Public School?
Crown Street Public School had 288 students enrolled, per NSW school data.
What suburbs are in the Crown Street Public School catchment?
Crown Street Public School's enrolment catchment covers Surry Hills and Darlinghurst, plus parts of nearby suburbs. Catchments can split a street, so confirm your address on the NSW Department of Education's School Finder.
What is Crown Street Public School's ICSEA?
Crown Street Public School has an ICSEA of 1114, above the national average of 1000 (88th percentile nationally), per the ACARA School Profile 2025. ICSEA reflects the socio-educational background of a school's students, not its results.
Where is Crown Street Public School located?
Crown Street Public School is at Surry Hills 2010.

School list: NSW Government open data — ACARA Schools NSW, via the NSW data portal, CC BY 4.0. Catchments: NSW Department of Education “School intake zones” dataset, CC BY 4.0. ICSEA & student background: ACARA School Profile 2025. NAPLAN: myschool.edu.au (ACARA).