Skip to content
Live in Sydney
State school · Primary

Bourke Street Public School

Surry Hills, 2010 — in Surry Hills

SectorSchools
State
Primary school
NSW school data
Year levels
—
official range
NSW school data
ICSEA
1135
national average is 1000
ACARA 2025
Suburb
Surry Hills
SA2 this campus sits in
ABS boundary

School information

Bourke Street Public School is a state primary school in Surry Hills, Sydney. It had 381 students, per NSW school data. It has a state-school enrolment catchment. Its ICSEA is 1135, above the national average of 1000 (92nd percentile nationally). NAPLAN results for Bourke Street Public School are published on its My School profile (ACARA).

Student background

ACARA · 2025

ICSEA measures the socio-educational advantage of a school's intake against the national average of 1000. The quarters bar shows how its students spread across the four national bands; an average school sits at 25% in each.

1135ICSEA — 135 points above the national average of 1000, higher than 92% of Australian schools
+135
820national average · 10001180
vs avg

Socio-educational advantage

Bottom quarter 4%Lower-middle quarter 9%Upper-middle quarter 31%Top quarter 56%

All Australian students — 25% in each quarter

Who’s enrolled

381students in 2025

Girls and boys

  • Girls 199 · 52%
  • Boys 182 · 48%

Language background

  • Language other than English 40%
  • English only 60%
  • Not stated 0%

Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander

2% of enrolment

Bourke Street Public School has an ICSEA of 1135, above the national average of 1000 and higher than 92% of Australian schools. 56% of its students are in the top quarter of socio-educational advantage and 4% in the bottom quarter, against 25% in each quarter across all Australian schools. It enrolled 381 students in 2025 (199 girls, 182 boys), 2% Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander and 40% with a language background other than English.

Show the data table
Bourke Street Public School — student background, ACARA School Profile 2025
MeasureValue
ICSEA1135
ICSEA vs national average (1000)+135
ICSEA percentile92
Bottom quarter of advantage4%
Lower-middle quarter of advantage9%
Upper-middle quarter of advantage31%
Top quarter of advantage56%
Total enrolment381
Girls199 (52%)
Boys182 (48%)
Language other than English40%
English only60%
Not stated0%
Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander2%
NAPLAN results and student progress for Bourke Street Public School are on My School, ACARA’s official site.

School details

Sector
State school
Type
Primary
Enrolment
381 students
ICSEA
1135 · 92nd percentile
Address
Surry Hills 2010

Catchment area

NSW government schools enrol students who live inside their catchment. This is a simplified outline — catchments can split a street, so confirm your exact address on the NSW Department of Education’s School Finder.

Map
Bourke Street Public School Catchment area · map tiles © OpenStreetMap contributors

Bourke Street Public School: common questions

Is Bourke Street Public School a public or private school?
Bourke Street Public School is a government (public) primary school in Surry Hills, Sydney. NSW government schools enrol students who live inside their catchment area.
How many students go to Bourke Street Public School?
Bourke Street Public School had 381 students enrolled, per NSW school data.
What is Bourke Street Public School's ICSEA?
Bourke Street Public School has an ICSEA of 1135, above the national average of 1000 (92nd percentile nationally), per the ACARA School Profile 2025. ICSEA reflects the socio-educational background of a school's students, not its results.
Where is Bourke Street Public School located?
Bourke Street Public School is at Surry Hills 2010.

School list: NSW Government open data — ACARA Schools NSW, via the NSW data portal, CC BY 4.0. Catchments: NSW Department of Education “School intake zones” dataset, CC BY 4.0. ICSEA & student background: ACARA School Profile 2025. NAPLAN: myschool.edu.au (ACARA).