Skip to content
Live in Sydney
State school · Primary

John Purchase Public School

Cherrybrook, 2126 — in Cherrybrook

SectorSchools
State
Primary school
NSW school data
Year levels
—
official range
NSW school data
ICSEA
1168
national average is 1000
ACARA 2025
Suburb
Cherrybrook
SA2 this campus sits in
ABS boundary

School information

John Purchase Public School is a state primary school in Cherrybrook, Sydney. It had 550 students, per NSW school data. It has a state-school enrolment catchment. Its ICSEA is 1168, above the national average of 1000 (98th percentile nationally). NAPLAN results for John Purchase Public School are published on its My School profile (ACARA).

Student background

ACARA · 2025

ICSEA measures the socio-educational advantage of a school's intake against the national average of 1000. The quarters bar shows how its students spread across the four national bands; an average school sits at 25% in each.

1168ICSEA — 168 points above the national average of 1000, higher than 98% of Australian schools
+168
820national average · 10001180
vs avg

Socio-educational advantage

Bottom quarter 2%Lower-middle quarter 7%Upper-middle quarter 23%Top quarter 68%

All Australian students — 25% in each quarter

Who’s enrolled

550students in 2025

Girls and boys

  • Girls 271 · 49%
  • Boys 279 · 51%

Language background

  • Language other than English 80%
  • English only 20%
  • Not stated 0%

Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander

0% of enrolment

John Purchase Public School has an ICSEA of 1168, above the national average of 1000 and higher than 98% of Australian schools. 68% of its students are in the top quarter of socio-educational advantage and 2% in the bottom quarter, against 25% in each quarter across all Australian schools. It enrolled 550 students in 2025 (271 girls, 279 boys), 0% Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander and 80% with a language background other than English.

Show the data table
John Purchase Public School — student background, ACARA School Profile 2025
MeasureValue
ICSEA1168
ICSEA vs national average (1000)+168
ICSEA percentile98
Bottom quarter of advantage2%
Lower-middle quarter of advantage7%
Upper-middle quarter of advantage23%
Top quarter of advantage68%
Total enrolment550
Girls271 (49%)
Boys279 (51%)
Language other than English80%
English only20%
Not stated0%
Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander0%
NAPLAN results and student progress for John Purchase Public School are on My School, ACARA’s official site.

School details

Sector
State school
Type
Primary
Enrolment
550 students
ICSEA
1168 · 98th percentile
Address
Cherrybrook 2126

Catchment area

NSW government schools enrol students who live inside their catchment. This is a simplified outline — catchments can split a street, so confirm your exact address on the NSW Department of Education’s School Finder.

Map
John Purchase Public School Catchment area · map tiles © OpenStreetMap contributors

John Purchase Public School: common questions

Is John Purchase Public School a public or private school?
John Purchase Public School is a government (public) primary school in Cherrybrook, Sydney. NSW government schools enrol students who live inside their catchment area.
How many students go to John Purchase Public School?
John Purchase Public School had 550 students enrolled, per NSW school data.
What is John Purchase Public School's ICSEA?
John Purchase Public School has an ICSEA of 1168, above the national average of 1000 (98th percentile nationally), per the ACARA School Profile 2025. ICSEA reflects the socio-educational background of a school's students, not its results.
Where is John Purchase Public School located?
John Purchase Public School is at Cherrybrook 2126.

School list: NSW Government open data — ACARA Schools NSW, via the NSW data portal, CC BY 4.0. Catchments: NSW Department of Education “School intake zones” dataset, CC BY 4.0. ICSEA & student background: ACARA School Profile 2025. NAPLAN: myschool.edu.au (ACARA).