Skip to content
Live in Sydney
State school · Primary

Canterbury Public School

Canterbury, 2193 — in Canterbury (North) - Ashbury

SectorSchools
State
Primary school
NSW school data
Year levels
—
official range
NSW school data
ICSEA
1082
national average is 1000
ACARA 2025
Suburb
Canterbury (North) - Ashbury
SA2 this campus sits in
ABS boundary

School information

Canterbury Public School is a state primary school in Canterbury (North) - Ashbury, Sydney. It had 346 students, per NSW school data. Its state-school catchment covers Canterbury (North) - Ashbury and parts of nearby suburbs. Its ICSEA is 1082, above the national average of 1000 (79th percentile nationally). NAPLAN results for Canterbury Public School are published on its My School profile (ACARA).

Student background

ACARA · 2025

ICSEA measures the socio-educational advantage of a school's intake against the national average of 1000. The quarters bar shows how its students spread across the four national bands; an average school sits at 25% in each.

1082ICSEA — 82 points above the national average of 1000, higher than 79% of Australian schools
+82
820national average · 10001180
vs avg

Socio-educational advantage

Bottom quarter 11%Lower-middle quarter 19%Upper-middle quarter 35%Top quarter 34%

All Australian students — 25% in each quarter

Who’s enrolled

346students in 2025

Girls and boys

  • Girls 154 · 45%
  • Boys 192 · 55%

Language background

  • Language other than English 52%
  • English only 48%
  • Not stated 0%

Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander

3% of enrolment

Canterbury Public School has an ICSEA of 1082, above the national average of 1000 and higher than 79% of Australian schools. 34% of its students are in the top quarter of socio-educational advantage and 11% in the bottom quarter, against 25% in each quarter across all Australian schools. It enrolled 346 students in 2025 (154 girls, 192 boys), 3% Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander and 52% with a language background other than English.

Show the data table
Canterbury Public School — student background, ACARA School Profile 2025
MeasureValue
ICSEA1082
ICSEA vs national average (1000)+82
ICSEA percentile79
Bottom quarter of advantage11%
Lower-middle quarter of advantage19%
Upper-middle quarter of advantage35%
Top quarter of advantage34%
Total enrolment346
Girls154 (45%)
Boys192 (55%)
Language other than English52%
English only48%
Not stated0%
Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander3%
NAPLAN results and student progress for Canterbury Public School are on My School, ACARA’s official site.

School details

Sector
State school
Type
Primary
Enrolment
346 students
ICSEA
1082 · 79th percentile
Address
Canterbury 2193

Catchment area

NSW government schools enrol students who live inside their catchment. This is a simplified outline — catchments can split a street, so confirm your exact address on the NSW Department of Education’s School Finder.

Map
Canterbury Public School Catchment area · map tiles © OpenStreetMap contributors

Canterbury Public School: common questions

Is Canterbury Public School a public or private school?
Canterbury Public School is a government (public) primary school in Canterbury (North) - Ashbury, Sydney. NSW government schools enrol students who live inside their catchment area.
How many students go to Canterbury Public School?
Canterbury Public School had 346 students enrolled, per NSW school data.
What suburbs are in the Canterbury Public School catchment?
Canterbury Public School's enrolment catchment covers Canterbury (North) - Ashbury, plus parts of nearby suburbs. Catchments can split a street, so confirm your address on the NSW Department of Education's School Finder.
What is Canterbury Public School's ICSEA?
Canterbury Public School has an ICSEA of 1082, above the national average of 1000 (79th percentile nationally), per the ACARA School Profile 2025. ICSEA reflects the socio-educational background of a school's students, not its results.
Where is Canterbury Public School located?
Canterbury Public School is at Canterbury 2193, in the Canterbury (North) - Ashbury SA2.

School list: NSW Government open data — ACARA Schools NSW, via the NSW data portal, CC BY 4.0. Catchments: NSW Department of Education “School intake zones” dataset, CC BY 4.0. ICSEA & student background: ACARA School Profile 2025. NAPLAN: myschool.edu.au (ACARA).